One Year On From FTV

In this guest blog, Scott Billing talks about what he’s been working on in the year since he finished his MA, offering some words of wisdom along the way…

Scott for blogAfter completing the placement module of the FTV course at Maverick Television in Birmingham I was asked to do a further four weeks work, which was mainly sourcing images for the Film4 website at the Maverick office in London. This meant slightly extending the deadline for my 30 minute documentary, and also some quite long hours of vast excel spreadsheet work. At the time I was delighted, as we all know that paid work is extremely difficult to come by.  

I suppose I made a fairly good impression as a few weeks later, in fact the day after completing the FTV course, I was asked to interview for a Junior Researcher position at Maverick London. I was offered the job and since then I have been working as a part of the award-winning multiplatform department, where we are producing three original content YouTube channels*. 

Due to having a relatively small team my role has been extremely diverse and I have been lucky enough to not only research, but to also occasionally shoot and edit some of our content. My day-to-day duties include maintaining camera kit, data wrangling, moving set and props to locations, lighting, research and the odd bit of casting (you’ll be glad to know these are things that can evidently be picked up along the way). My contract finishes this September and I am somehow both anxious and excited about my next challenge. Until then I am trying to absorb as much knowledge and make as many friends and contacts as possible.  

In my limited experience I have this advice to share. If you have an opportunity in TV, Film or the media then seize it with both hands. Always ask senior members of the team what you can be doing, be enthusiastic, never exhale heavily (or show any other signs of displeasure) if you are asked to do something tedious or unpleasant, be punctual, be organised and make lots of tea (SERIOUSLY, this is not a joke, even if you don’t drink tea. It’s the best way to meet people in the kitchen and it impresses those you work with). That’s it.  

*If you’d like to check out the YouTube channels they are called ‘Daily Mix TV’ and ‘Bodytalk Daily’. I have also done some work for ‘The You Generation’ which is the new talent search channel produced by Maverick in partnership with Syco, Simon Cowell’s production company.

Scott Billing

Leave a Reply

