Working as a Junior Researcher

Catalina Bingham graduated from FTV in 2012 and now works as a Junior Researcher on Who Do You Think You Are? In this guest post she describes her role so far.

Catalina BinghamAs a junior researcher for Who Do You Think You Are?, every day is different. My three month placement at Wall to Wall really helped in giving me that extra bit of confidence when starting my job there as well as seeing familiar faces on my first day.

I spend most of my time around London archives looking up all matter of genealogical and historical sources. This means I’m constantly meeting new people and have to communicate between the archives and the rest of the production team. Gradually, as I’ve gotten more acquainted with our numerous episode storylines I am also now able to pursue research avenues that I think could possibly be a positive addition to the projects. Being so hands on with the research I am able to communicate my findings and suggestions to the rest of the team and it is always so rewarding to see a story develop into something exciting and in-depth.

I don’t only spend my days in dusty archives, but I have gone on recces all over the country in preparation for up and coming shoots. A few weeks ago I was in Dorset and Essex with my camera in hand! I speak to many experts and potential contributors which means I have to be on the ball when it comes to knowing my stuff and what our research has been so far. Like I said, every day is different and I’m glad I invested in a good pair of trainers as I’m always coming in and out of the office and at any moment could be sent off somewhere!

I love my job and have recently had my contract extended! Looking at becoming a researcher in charge of my own episode, but that’s a little way down the line. For now I’m excited about going on a 2-day shoot in London and meeting the celebrity I’ve spent weeks learning about his (or her!) family history! Great team and so far a wonderful experience!!

Catalina Bingham

Leave a comment